The Bangladeshi Curry Class @ Aichi Summer Seminar 2014 : Will I be able to greet the summer next year?

Standard

CAM00359-a     Oh, no! Hold this class next summer, too! Please!

     I was in the kitchen of Takakura High School of Economics Nagoya University on July 20. It was a cooking class of Aichi Summer Seminar, which is an annual event held by private schools in Aichi Prefecture. Aichi Summer Seminar is also known as “The Dream School” because anyone can become teachers and students freely. You can choose and take any classes basically for free from more than 3,000 classes. It was held at some schools near Nagoya City Museum in Mizuho-ku from July 19 to 21 this year. The places change every year, but I’ve joined the same cooking class for five years. I like the Bangladeshi chicken curry in the class! CAM00363-a

     It was a very hot day when I attended the class. But the kitchen was very comfortable because of the air-conditioner. There were 20 people in the room. The participants were separated into some groups, each of which had about half a dozen people. I used “cooking” above, but there are not so many things to do in the class. You fry onions. That’s all. Oh, one more thing. You check the other teams’ progress. The room was cool, but we soon became hot and started perspiring a lot. All the teams began frying onions… CAM00364-a

     Actually I’ve already introduced the recipe in my past article. (Aichi Summer Seminar 2011) But I tell you how to cook the Bangladeshi chicken curry again here:

Bangladesh Chicken Curry Recipe   

Serves: 6

Ingredients: 750g           chicken drumsticks
                         2              onions
                    1 1/2tbs       ground ginger
                    1 1/2tbs       ground garlic
                      6tbs           salad oil
                    1 1/2tbs      curry powder
                    1 1/2tbs      salt
                                         some water CAM00368-a

1) Rinse the chicken, chop the onions, and grind the ginger and garlic.
2) Heat oil in a pan, fry the onions until brown.
3) Add the ground ginger and garlic, curry powder and salt.
4) Pour water, cover the pan, and cook it for about 30 minutes. CAM00369

     How easy! No.2 is the most important! You need to fry onions patiently! I was able to eat delicious curry and rice this year, too! Thanks! Teachers served Bangladeshi spiced tea and snacks. I had a really good time! But one of the teachers said to me, “We might not have this class any more…” What?! I really like this class! So, I asked her to have the class next year too. Summer will never arrive for me untill I take the class! Will I be able to greet the summer next year?

Leave a Reply

