My Travel in Vancouver 5 (Day 2 Part 3) ~ The Bill Reid Gallery & Christ Church Cathedral ~ : You are the first person to buy!

Standard

clip_image002     I certainly said “adult” when I bought a ticket at the Bill Reid Gallery of Northwest Coast Art…But the lady at the counter treated me as a “student” somehow…

clip_image004      The Bill Reid Gallery is just a one minute from the Pendulum Gallery. Bill Reid was a Canadian artist of Haida tribe origin. I looked at some of his art works at the Museum of Anthropology the previous day. So, I came to the gallery after the Pendulum.

     When the lady at the ticket office said, “You’re a student,” I denied it, “Oh, I’m not a student.” But she said something and unfortunately I could not understand exactly what she said with my English abilities… Or…should I say “fortunately”?

     There were many elaborate art works of Bill Reid in the gallery. I love First Nations’ designs. They look “naïve” at first glance, but they are artful and sophisticated. They have both boldness and sensitivity. I had a wonderful time there surrounded by my favorite art.clip_image008

     A cathedral stands with stealth among modern glass-scrapers behind the Bill Reid Gallery: Christ Church Cathedral. I visited the church after the Bill Reid Gallery. Opening the door, I was enveloped by heavy silence. I stepped into the world of the 19th century. The light source was the faint sunlight through beautiful stained glass and flickering candle lights. Adjusting to the dim light, I found a cleric at the counter. clip_image006

     “Excuse me.” I whispered because the place was really quiet.
     “Yes.” The holy man looked up at me from his book or something.
          “Can I look around inside?”
          “Of course.” He smiled.
          “Um…How much…?”
          “Oh, you don’t need to pay.” He looked a little surprised.
          “Oh, really? Thank you. And can I take some photos…?”
          “Sure. And you don’t need to pay for that, either. Take your time.” He said that with a big smile.

clip_image010     A man was sitting on a bench with his eyes closed. I also sat on a bench and closed my eyes. The scent of delicate flowers hit my nostrils. I felt as if my tangled nerves were untwining slowly. After how long time I don’t know, I opened my eyes and scanned the place. The sitting man was still there. I started walking on tiptoe to look at the stained glass…The panels were wonderful!clip_image012

     Leaving the cathedral, I dropped by Urban Fare, the grocery store, on the way to my hotel. A sales clerk caught my attention while I was shopping.

     “Why don’t you try some tea?” She said that and smiled at me. Suddenly I realized how tired I was. I had not drunk anything at all after brunch. I approached her and chose an herbal tea: Chocolate Spice. “Where are you from?” The clerk started a conversation.clip_image013

     She said that she had come to the shop from Capilano, where I had been in the heavy rain that morning. We talked about Canada’s rich nature while I was sipping the tea. The paper cup was empty, and the chocolate-colored liquid was soon absorved into my cells. Then I felt revived.

    “How was that tea?”
     “Very nice.”
     “That’s good. You can take a sample. Which one would you like?”
     “This one,” I picked up a box of Chocolate Spice tea.
     “What do you mean? Do you want that as a sample? Or…are you going to buy it?“
     “I’d like to buy this.”
     “REALLY?” She was surprised and stared at me for a while.
     “Any problems?”
     “No, no, no…Actually, you are the first person to buy anything from me today!”
     “REALLY?” It was my turn to be surprised. “Well…Congratulations!”
     “Thank you! Enjoy your trip!” She looked really happy.
     “Thanks!” I got on the way back to my hotel in a cheerful and agreeable mood.

 

My Travel in Vancouver Part 1 is HERE.

MY Travel in Vancouver Part 2 is HERE.

My Travel in Vancouver Part 3 is HERE.

MY Travel in Vancouver Part 4 is HERE.

Leave a Reply

