A Stormy Fireworks Display

Standard

1234962_10151845002777356_1435764867_n

     When was the last time I wrote here? What? September 26?! Mmm…I haven’t posted anything for such a long time except for the annual report…My last article is about events which happened last July and September 11th. Okay, let’s go back to last September…

     It was raining hard on September 15. A big typhoon was getting closer to my area. There were not only heavy rains but also strong winds outside. A fireworks display was planned in my neighborhood that evening, but of course, many people including me had given it up.

     But I thought I heard something big bangs faraway around 6:30 in the evening. Then I opened the window and looked outside. The wind and rain seemed to ease a little. Then a big bright flower opened in the air before me. Wow! A firework!

     Actually the event was supposed to start at 7:00 p.m., but they began before the time. They seemed to decide to set off all of the fireworks while the weather was lulling. You know, once fireworks get wet, they will never be used. If they hadn’t fired them off, they would have had to throw them away. And it would be very difficult and cost a lot.

     Around 7:00, when was the originally scheduled time, the weather was getting worse. They seemed to fire the rest of the fireworks at once…The stormy night sky was filled with countless bright lights and glowed with loud blasts for a short time. And then the town was steeped in darkness in a moment.

     They fired all of the fireworks off in 30 minutes though it would take two hours for the event in a normal situation. I stood there looking at the dark sky for a while despite of the bad weather because the last one minute was spectacular. I felt like the summer had gone with the fireworks display while hearing the roar of the typhoon…

 

Leave a Reply

