Happy Birthday, Hisako! : Which part do you want to eat? Orland’s mouth, or eyes?

Standard

TS3N1278     “Let me pick your brain for a while…” One day Kazuko came to me and whispered. “Thursday of the 13th is Hisako’s birthday. I’d like to celebrate her birthday with everyone. What do you think we should? And you’re going to come to the class, aren’t you?”

     There is an English class on Thursday mornings at Hisako’s house, and Kazuko would have liked to have a birthday party for Hisako after the class on 13th. Actually, I do not take the English class at Hisako’s house on Thursdays because I have another class in the afternoon. I would be late to the afternoon class if I took the morning one or I would have to give up my lunch. But, of course, I would do anything for Hisako! I could give up my lunch! So, I decided to take the morning class that day.

     I have gotten a lot of things from her. She is a gentle and very hospitable person to anyone. I love her! And so many people do! That is why not only me but also all of the regular students of the Thursday class and the teacher approved Kazuko’s idea. Kazuko thought at first to have the party after the class, but we decided to have the party at the beginning of the class because some of the participants including me had a class in the afternoon and had to dash to the university as soon as the morning class was over. TS3N1276

     We planned that Kazuko would prepare for a birthday cake, Midori crackers, and me a bouquet. A week before the party, Kazuko texted me and asked, “Who is Hisako’s favorite actor?” I replied, “You know, she likes young good-looking men. So, it’s hard to say who she likes the best but I’m sure she loves Orland Bloom…Are you going to buy a photo book or a calendar for next year as a present?” Kazuko sent me, “Thank you! It helped me a lot!”, but she did not reveal what she intended to…

     On the 13th, it was really hard to bring the birthday cake and that big bouquet – actually I was appalled at the size when I got it at the flower shop. It was three times as big as I had expected… - to her house without Hisako seeing them. Midori and I sneaked to the background with the flowers, saying “Feeling like as if we’re thieves…,” and hide them under the balcony. And then we went back to the entrance and opened the door, saying “Good morning!” as if nothing had happened.  TS3N1277

     Kazuko ran up to us, when we entered the room, and whispered, “What shall I do? I couldn’t bring the cake into the house without Hisako seeing it. It is still in my car!” Midori and I explained how we had brought the bouquet to the balcony to Kazuko, and she decided to bring the cake with the same way. I went down to the path in the garden from the window and came near the entrance taking look around and hid myself behind the wall while Kazuko were saying to Hisako something why she had to go back to her car. Then, Kazuko returned with the cake from her car and handed it to me. I received the cake and went back to the window, where Teruko and Midori were waiting for me and they got the cake into the room. Just in case, I covered it with a table cloth. 

     All of the participants were waiting for Hisako at the room, holding a cracker in each hand. She came without knowing a thing about the drama behind the stage. Everyone was trying to look innocent. The teacher greeted to his students and the class started. But it was not a usual one. He mentioned what day it was. Yes, it was Hisako’s birthday! We said, “Happy birthday!” and let the crackers off all together. Hisako was very surprised and seemed not to understand what was happening. TS3N1275

     Some of us went to get the bouquet and the cake, and the party began. Not only Hisako but also all of the participants were surprised to see the birthday cake Kazuko had bought. It had Orland Bloom’s profile on the top. Is it edible? I thought. Of course, you can eat his cute face! It was printed with food colors on the chocolate. Hisako was really surprised and glad at the cake, exclaiming, “How did you know? How did you know?” Yes, Orland Bloom is her favorite! My guess was right. Kazuko also looked very happy to see Hisako’s pleasure, and winked at me.

     The day’s class was unusual. We studied English, eating delicious cake. Oh, I forgot to mention this: We had to cut Orland Bloom’s spotless face up to eat the cake… “Which part do you wanna eat, Hisako? Orland’s mouth?” Kazuko asked to Hisako. She replied, “Oh, I want his eyes!” So, Hisako ate Orland’s eyes part of the cake, and me his hand…Anyway, happy birthday, Hisako!

Leave a Reply

