Be in Love, You will be happy: The Exhibition of Paul Gauguin

Standard

im_gallery_05
     This sculpture’s title is “Be in Love, You will be happy.” It’s one of Paul Gauguin’s works. Don’t you think it is nice? I had an opportunity to visit Nagoya/Boston Museum of Fine Arts on Monday. It was the first time to visit there for me. I had wanted to come to the museum once for a long time. But the chance suddenly came to me.

     “Do you have time on the 8th?” A friend of mine emailed me last week. She had a special ticket to enter the museum on only that day. Everyone could enter there with the person who had the exceptional ticket that day. She invited me to the unusual event. im_gallery_03

     Why unusual? The 8th of June was Monday. All of Nagoya City’s facilities, such as museums, the zoo and the botanical garden, and libraries and so on, are closed on Mondays. I replied “Yes! And I’d love to go to the museum with you!” right away. Actually I was going to see the exhibition of Gauguin within days. Her offering meant that I didn’t need to buy a ticket! Yaaaaaay!im_gallery_02

     So, she, I, and another friend of us went to Nogoya/Boston Museum of Fine Arts in Kanayama, Nagoya on Monday.

     The entrance door was blocked when we arrived at the museum. Of course, it was closed on Mondays. But we saw some people entered the building which has the museum, and followed them. Yes, they had the same tickets. We were able to go inside of the museum safely. The museum was chartered by one of Japanese big enterprises that day. The friend who had the ticket has nothing with the company, but it seems that she’d got the ticket from someone of her friends. im_gallery_07

     Nagoya City Museum where I went to last week was really crowded and I was almost choked, but the museum was quiet and peace that day. Of course, it’s not that Nagoya/Boston Museum of Fine Arts is not popular. Actually it’s been really crowed recently because of the exhibition of Gauguin. Probably I would have been chocked again if I had visited on a normal day.

 

gauguin

    

 

 

 

 

 

     But the museum was chartered that day, and we weren’t pushed nor cursed by others when we stood dead in front of famous and popular works of Gauguin. We were able to enjoy fine arts at a relaxed atmosphere. im_gallery_06

     My impression for Gauguin’s works was almost a series of paintings in Tahiti, as like naked women with black long straight hair, before the exhibition. I didn’t know that he made wood-printings, sculpture, or potteries. 

     By the way, I got interested in “Be in Love, You will be happy,” I introduced at the beginning, at the exhibition. Well, to be correct, I might be attracted by the title. I think Gauguin’s passion is outpouring from the sculpture with the title. Yeah, I’d always like to be in love! 😉

One response »

Leave a Reply

