Mt. Fuji

Standard

HI352143

     The New Year has already started. How were your New Year holidays? I was in Tokyo, where my family lives, during the holidays. I was able to see Mt. Fuji from different directions and places on the first three days of the New Year. So, I’m going to write about Mt. Fuji for my first blog this year.HI352146

     I used Shinkansen, the bullet train, for Tokyo in the morning on January 1st. The train I got on was not crowded. Soon after I sat on my seat, I fell asleep…When I was awakened I saw a woman, sitting on the seat in front of me, pointing her cellphone at the train window.  

     There majestic Mt. Fuji was on my right. I also took out my cellphone from my pocket in a hurry and pointed it to the mountain. Snap! I felt that something nice was going to happen, seeing the mountain’s elegant line.

     That night I got an email from my old friend. She and I had not seen each other for a long time. The email said that she was in Mitaka on 2nd. Mitaka is not so far from where I stayed in Tokyo. So I went to see her next day. I was very surprised when I got on the train. White snow capped Mt. Fuji was seen in the distance from the train window. I didn’t know that you can see Mt. Fuji in Tokyo. Anyway I was very happy to see the friend.HI352148

     I went back to Nagoya by car on 3rd. It was really crowded on the highway and it took me more than eight hours from Tokyo to Nagoya. I was exhausted, but I was happy to have seen Mt. Fuji on the way.  HI352144-a

     Mt. Fuji is the highest mountain in Japan at 3.776 meters. It has been depicted in poems, stories, songs, paintings and other things since ancient times in Japan. Especially in old days, Mt. Fuji could be seen from many places because it was the highest, there weren’t high-rise buildings around the mountain, and the air was even cleaner. 

     Look at the snow capped mountain! How beautiful and magnificent! I’ve heard that most people in the world are not interested in just seeing a mountain, but they are interested in climbing it up and in seeing scenery in it or from the top of the mountain. But I think most Japanese feel happy when they just see Mt. Fuji. I can’t explain the reason, but it’s special for Japanese. Mt. Fuji is a symbol of Japan.

Leave a Reply

