Global Friendship Party 1 & 2

Standard

      Time flies! (I think I always say that….) Today is May 22! The next month is just around the corner before I know it…Actually, a family member of mine, who had lived in Tokyo, passed away in the beginning of last month. I’ve been busy since then. I’m in Tokyo every weekend because I have many things to do there… 

     Anyway, I’m going to write about a party named Global Friendship Party today. Two ladies, who are my friends, have started to hold the party for Japanese people who study English. Although many Japanese people study English, they don’t have many opportunities to speak English. “If there are not many places and opportunities to speak English, we should make them,” they thought and started the project last March.

     So far three parties were held and I took part in all of them. In fact, the third one was today. It was held at a café in Meito-ku, Nagoya, and about 20 Japanese and three foreigners: an Estonian lady, a Belarusian lady, and a French man. The organizers always invite at least three foreigners to each party. 

     I’ll write about the two previous parties here. The first one was held at a pub in Fushimi on March 15. There were about 15 Japanese and a British-Russian lady, an Estonian lady, and a Ghanaian lady in it. We enjoyed chattering, over delicious food and drink, and also played games. It was very nice for me to meet many new people and to listen to those foreigners’ about their countries. I had a really great time.

     And the second one was held at the same pub on April 23. There were about 15 Japanese, who were not all the same people as ones in the former party, and three foreigners: an Estonian lady, a Bangladeshi lady, whose folk costume was very fantastic, and a Russian boy. The party was very nice as well. I was able to meet new people again and to listen to very interesting stories from them, especially the conversation with the Russian boy was nice.

     He studies about Ryu Murakami, an author, at a university in Nagoya. According to him, Ryu Murakami is quite popular in Russia and is called Japanese Dostoevsky. I liked Ryu Murakami’s works when I was a junior high student. I hadn’t known the author was so popular in Russia until that day.

     Just as I was leaving the party, he came to said to me, “You look like a Russian politician named Hakamada.” I checked the politician after coming back home. I was relieved. Hakamada is female! I thought the politician was a man. According to Wikipedia, Irina Hakamada was born of a Japanese communist in exile and a Jewish woman in Russia, and is a politician in the right wing. I’m wondering whether I look like her.

     Anyway, I’m lucky to have such great opportunities to meet many people and to speak English. Thank to the two of my friends. I’m going to write about today’s party someday soon.

Leave a Reply

