Christmas Tea Concert

Standard

    

     There was a Christmas concert on December 1st. It was held at Yama-no-Hall in Nisshin by M&P’s Tea. (I mentioned the tea company many times here, but if you’re interested in it, how about reading my blog http://moshimoshimo.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!1D0F2197A6F55843!2224.entry or visiting their website: http://mptea.com/ ? )

     It was a beautiful day. I went see the concert with my family and some of my friends. Many people had already gathered when we arrived. Usually there’re around 50 people in a concert held by M&P&s Tea’s. But probably there were about 80 audiences in the hall that day. Perhaps it was because of the musicians.

     It was a quartet named Hitohana Shijyuso-dan. All the members belong to Nagoya Philharmonie, one of the most famous symphony orchestras in Japan.

     The quartet is kind of unique. It’s composed by violin, flute, oboe, and piano. All of the musical instruments play high-pitched sounds. They have no bass. So the pianist played the bass register too. 

They played:

1. The Marriage (Wedding) of Figaro of the Day of Madness / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
2. Salut d’amour / Edward William Elgar
3. Fantasia on Greensleeves / Ralph Vaughan Williams
4.
"Hunt Cantata": Sheep May Safely Graze / Johann Sebastian Bach
5.
The Four Seasons winter mvt 2 Largo / Antonio Lucio Vivaldi
6.
The Nutcracker : Waltz of the Flowers / Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
7.
Christmas Medley

     Their music was really wonderful! I joined in M&P’s Tea’s concerts many times, but I thought their music was the best I’d ever heard there. It seems as if tones of each musical instrument hat the players’ spirits and sank into the audience’s hearts! Even I who don’t know much about classical music understood their music was excellent! 

     After the concert, there was an afternoon tea party as usual. To tell the truth, I always go to their concert with a view to joining in the tea party!

     They serve many kinds of teas and delicious sweets and cucumber sandwiches! I love Rie’s home made sweets and Paul’s cucumber sandwiches! I think Rie should have her own cake shop!

     I had gallons of delicious tea and lots of cake chatting with my friends and meeting new people. Music, tea and cake…How wonderful time I had!

Leave a Reply

