The Flute Ensemble

Standard

      Do you know "mixi"? It is the biggest social networking service in Japan. I am the member of it and have made many friends there. One of the friends belongs to a flute ensemble named Ashibue-no-kai (reed club) and invited me to their concert on 3rd.

     The concert was held at Shirakawa Hall in Fushimi, Nagoya last Sunday of the 3rd. I was lost on my way to the hall that day because I had never visited there. When I saw a lady cleaning the street and asked her how to get there, she looked tired of my question. I found out the reason of her expression later. After saying thank you to her, I saw many people who seemed to be lost with maps on the way to the hall and  saw many people had already lined up in front of the hall when I arrived. She could say the same thing to many people as she said to me.

    Shirakawa Hall was bigger and more beautiful than I had thought. Probably it must be famous for classical music fans. I thought that when I saw posters on the wall of the hall.

     Ahibue-no-kai, the reed club which held the concert, was established by a flute player Tsutomu Nomura as the director in 1988. Most of the members lives in Nagoya area. I don’t know how many people belong to the club, but they sometimes play as a small ensemble at clinics, and sometimes play as a big flute orchestra which has more than 30 players at concert halls. They play not only orthodox classical music but also contemporary music. And they are now turning toward introduction of old Japanese songs.

     I listened to music as follows:
       1. Mathew Passion Oratorio (BWV244)- No.47 & No.78  (J.S. Bach)
       2.Divertiment KV137 – Allegro di molto (W.A.Mozart)
       3.Romance in G major (L.v. Beethoven)
       4.Hungarian Dance in D major (J. Brahms)
       5.Medley of Japanese old songs vol.2: Me-me-kohitsuji (bleating lamb)~Toryanse (please come through)~Jugoya-Otsukisan (the moon at the full moon night)~Aoi-me-no-ningyo (A blue eyes doll)~Nanatsu-no-ko (seven children)~Akai-kutsu (a pair of red shoes)
       6. Medley of Japanese old songs vol.4: Nogiku (wild chrysanthemums)~Makiba-no-asa (morning in the meadow)~Syojoji-no-tanuki-bayashi (music by raccoon dogs in Shojo Temple)~Tsuki (the moon)~Kojo-no-tuski (the moon at a ruined castle)~Hakone-hachiri (the long road in Hakone)~shiki-no-ame (rain in four seasons)
       7.Medley of Japanese old songs vol.6: Okashi-to-musume (sweets and a girl)~Yamadera-no-oshosan (a Buddhist priest at a temple in the mountain)~Kozika-no-Bambi (Bambi, the fawn)~Hanayome-ningyo (a bride dall)~Karasu-no-akachan (babies of a crow)~Haru-no-ogawa (a stream in the spring)~Ominago-yo (A girl)~Oshogatsu (New Year’s Day)

     Their music had a lot of diversity. There were many senior citizens in the hall and they looked happy especially when they listened to old Japanese songs. According to the conductor, who is the director of the ensemble, many Japanese people don’t know those old Japanese songs because the songs haven’t been sung recently any more. And he would like to pass many old Japanese songs down to future generations. Yeah, I am sorry to say that I myself didn’t know most of the Japanese songs they played.

     Anyway I had a wonderful time and was be able to relax.

Leave a Reply

