At an Elementary School

Standard

     Strange to say this, although I don’t know why I take part in an association of conservation of nature. I don’t have so strong will like other members to protect the environment from destruction for posterity. Because most of them have children or grandchildren, they work for the activity earnestly for them. Although I have no kids, I want to leave rich natural environment in the future, of course. Is it the reason why I join the group? I don’t know. Anyway, I sometimes help them as if I’m provoked by something.

     So I went to an elementary school today. Because I have no kids and any nephews or nieces, I seldom see kids. Of course, elementary schools were unknown world for me. Why did I go to such a place? The representative of the association was going to have lectures to kids at the elementary school, and I accompanied him to help with the lectures.

     We had two lectures. One was for pupils in their 1st, 2nd, and 3rd grade. And another one was for in the 4th, 5th and 6th grade. I had expected the situation though; pupils especially in from the 1st to the 3rd grade couldn’t keep quiet for an hour at all! They ran riot. No one could control them. They hardly heard anything; nevertheless I hope the lecture sets off letting them think of environment.

     To tell the truth, what I was shocked were some of the teachers’ appearances and their behavior during the lectures, not kids’. They were dressed sloppily like mothers and fathers at home on Sundays and they talked to their co-workers, not listening to the lectures. They didn’t even pick up litter on the floor. I couldn’t believe my eyes.

     Last May I visited a junior high school, at that time teachers’ appearances and behavior were really good, though…It depends on the school? Anyway I’ve been worried about nature but I’m getting more worried about human nature.

Leave a Reply

