Peruvian cuisine

Standard

     In Wednesday night, I visited a friend of mine to learn some Peruvian cuisines. This time what we cooked were chicken rice called arroz con pollo in Spanish and a kind of potato salad called papas a la Huancaína.

     Yes, the friend comes from Peru. She lives with her husband and two sons near my apartment. I just had greeted her when I had met her in the neighborhood until I took her class last fall. She had an interesting course entitled Peru in 3 Days at a university last September and she introduced Peruvian culture there for 3 days, I was in the classroom at that time. Since then she and I have kept in touch.

     Her husband speaks only Spanish. I’ve learned Spanish since last September, but I haven’t been able to speak it well yet. So I just introduced myself in Spanish to him. On the other hand, her two sons speak Japanese fluently, and maybe they can speak Japanese better than Spanish because they were born here in Japan.

     Because I have no kids, I don’t know what snacks or sweets are popular among children now. So I asked a friend of mine, who has a niece and a nephew who are as same age as the Peruvian children what to buy for them. Before I visited the Peruvian friend’s home, I dropped by a grocery store with her and got some sweets.

     Those sweets caught on with the children very much! One is a candy which looks like a set of color pens. And another one is jelly, but it’s not usual jelly. In the package, there’re one cup with the lid, two bags of powder and a spoon. Pour water in the cup and add blue color powder. Stir it well by the spoon. And add the other white color powder written magic powder into it and cap the cup. Then shake it 20times! Oh! You’ll see the liquid color changes from blue to pink! After shaking, leave it still. One minute later you’ll find the liquid has become jelly!

     Anyway, I learned two Peruvian cuisines. I’ll write here those recipes.

 

Arroz con pollo

 

Ingredients (Serves:4)

350g chiken drumsticks

500g rice

500cc water and spinach juice (make juice from100g spinach leaves with a blender)

1/4 cup peas

1/4 cup corns

1 small carrot, diced

2 tablespoons finely chopped onion

1 cube chicken soup stock

1/2 tablespoon grated garlic

5 tablespoons oil

1/2 teaspoon turmeric

Cumin, pepper, and salt to taste

Red bell pepper strips, if desired

 

Method

1.      Wash rice, then drain.

2.      Heat oil in a pot and add chicken. Fry until browned all over.

3.      Remove chicken, add onion, garlic, pepper, cumin, turmeric into the pot and stir.

4.      Add carrot, peas and corn there.

5.      Return chicken to the pan, and add spinach juice, water and a soup stock cube there. Cook until chicken is tender. Remove chicken again.

6.      Boil rice with the soup.

7.      Serve hot, garnished with chicken and red bell pepper.

 

 

Papas a la Huancaína

 

Ingredients (Serves:4)

600g potatoes

1 egg

4 black olives

4 leaves of lettuce

 

Ingredients for sauce

80g melt cheese

1 tablespoon ahi amallio (yellow hot pepper)

6 pieces crackers

150ml milk

3 tablespoons oil

1 teaspoon grated garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

 

Method

1.  Boil potatoes and eggs. After cool, peel and slice them.

2.  Mix all of the ingredients for sauce by a blender.

3.  Add milk if the sauce is thick, and add crackers if the sauce is thin.

4.  Put potatoes on lettuce. Pour sauce over potatoes. Garnish with egg and olive.

 

  

     When I left, her sons called me, “When will you come next?” Of course, their aim is not to see me, is to get sweets and snacks from me!

Leave a Reply

